Imagination

“Grandma! Grandma! There are snakes in the pine trees!” our grandson shouted excitedly running to the house. Knowing that we do have at least one snake I thought to myself, “Drat, that snake had babies!”

So, I grabbed my camera and asked our grandson to show me the snakes. (Yes, I grabbed my camera! LOL) Off to the pines trees we went.

As grandson was pushing his way through the pine boughs, he was telling me to be careful. Once through, He stopped, pointed and said, “See!?”

I poked my head through the pine trees ever so carefully fully expecting to see an active nest of creepy snakes. When I didn’t see anything slithering on the ground, I asked grandson where are the snakes? And that is when he pointed up into the pine trees! “OMG,” I thought to myself growing even more creeped out. I scoured the tree branches up and down. Didn’t see a thing except needleless pine branches.

I asked him again, “Where are the snakes?”

“See! Right here!” he answered pointing to touch one of the bare branches.

“So, this is pretend, right?” I asked.

He looked up at me with a puzzled look on his face and answered, “Yeah.” (Duh, Grandma!)

Then off he ran through the pine boughs toward the house screaming excitedly, “Monster! Monster! Come on Grandma, run!”

IMG_9050bw
Children and their imaginations are wonderful!

 

“Imagination has no age and dreams are forever.” Walt Disney

“The world is but a canvas to the imagination.” Henry David Thoreau

“Play is the work of the child.” Maria Montessori

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

